ImageIt is always a pleasure to discover a hidden gem.  KO Pies has been open for business for almost a year now, and I finally found my way. Being familiar with East Boston, I was shocked that I had never known how GOD DAMN awesome the Shipyard has become thanks to the Harbor Arts mission.  I took the Blue Line to Maverick and took a walk, cutting through the bike trail and merging onto Marginal Street.  I walked past the community garden at the foot of Cottage Street on my left and past Piers Park, on my right.  Finally, I was led to a security gate that had me question myself if I should even be here or not.  I asked the guy at the gate, “There’s a restaurant in here…right?”

Upon entering the Shipyard you can’t help but notice the massive fish and octopus sculptures that scale the rooftops of the ugly, yet beautifully rundown shipyard buildings.  There are a handful of murals that welcome you and other pieces of art in places you wouldn’t expect. Here is a map of the shipyard and its pieces.

diptic_1364998523668 Enough about the art, you can see it for yourself.  Let’s talk about the food… Australian food: Never had it in my life, so you can only imagine how pumped I was to try something new.  As soon as you walk in, you’re in front of an ordering counter.  Behind the counter is a heater filled with fresh Aussie pies and a display of beer.  (Go with Coopers Ale, made in Australia of course) photo-46 I instantly asked the woman behind the counter, “if I was in Australia, what would I eat?” She told me to go for a pie and Aussie beer.  I followed her orders.  I got myself a Lamb Shank meat pie and the Coopers Ale.  It wasnt until after I devoured the pie that I saw the sign on the wall titled, “How to eat an Aussie Pie”.  Shit.  I had disappointed the Australians, I was a definite tourist, for I ate mine with a fork and knife.  The proper way to eat a pie my friends, is with your hands.  Just left me wanting to come back again.

IMG_20130329_141432 For dessert, I indulged in a Lamington, an Australian sponge cake layered with chocolate icing and coconut.

0329131356_Ingrid At KO Pies, you have the option to sit inside or outside, I chose the outdoor picnic tables which faced two really cool sculptures and the harbor (doesn’t get any better than that).  Inside, there is a freezer packed with Australian goodies you can take to-go.  If you’re not in this neck of the woods, KO has an additional location in Southie at 87 A Street.  Check their website for full menu and venue details.

Lastly, I will show you that I was thrilled to find a hole in the wall just outside my new favorite, “hole in the wall”.  Until next time… 0329131353b_Hagrid